High resolution

Module 10: Figure sleep phases

Sleep phases.

Sleep consists of two main phases: non-rapid eye movement (NREM) and rapid eye movement (REM) sleep. The NREM sleep has four different stages. During the wake state, neurons in the brain fire at the fast theta and gamma neural rhythms, which then switch rapidly to the delta and slow oscillations that characterize sleep.